Happy HS

In 1967, I graduated from Revere High School between Akron and Cleveland, which makes me 176 years old.  When Abe Lincoln delivered the Gettysburg Address, I stood in the press section (I worked for the Athens Thunderbolt) behind a tall gentleman wearing a stovepipe hat.  I asked him if her would remove his hat — he was very gracious about it and said no.

After the speech, then after the war itself, I signed up for the SPACE PHARMS depth probe with orgy.  Twenty years later we reached our destination planet, whizzed around it a couple of times, and decided it could sustain life.  By the time we returned to our planet, I was 15 earth years old.  What the hell, everyone said – “send the kid to high school. He missed a warm and wonderful part of life.  He’s a good kid, he should go and meet girls.”  So I ended up at Revere.  My story is long and complex, so lets start with a short simple tale, one that doesn’t shake the sheets off the clothes line.

MY FAVORITE TEACHERS AT REVERE.

Mr. Pamer, Mr Smith, Coach Greynolds

Mr. Pamer taught Advanced Math and Physics.  He pushed us pretty hard.  Any grade you got from him was earned.  He invented the concept “firm, but fair”  His explanations of slippery concepts were clear and to the point.  No question was stupid, even the stupid ones.  When I re-entered college in 1980, much of what he taught still lined the inside of my skull.  It lasted through my engineering career.  This is a characteristic of an excellent teacher.

Sadly, Mr. Smith was my English teacher only for my senior year.  His personality was sometimes (how shall we say) eccentric.  If  you could handle the mood changes and the occasional bombast, he was very intelligent and a great communicator.  He treated us like college students to present concepts like “death wish”, existentialism, sexual motifs found in literature, and others.  Preparing us for college, he said, and that he did.  Sometimes when I got my themes back, I wondered if he had cut an artery over it.  The grade of the  paper he wrote so large that everybody in the class saw it – there was no hiding from it.

I never took Interscholastic Basketball I, II, III from Coach Greynolds.  I just had him for Driver’s Ed.  Every so often Coach tossed the Driver’s Ed book out the window to cover what he called the practical stuff the school doesn’t teach us.  So he taught how to balance a checkbook, how to buy a new or used car, what to look for in a house, how to apply for a loan and so forth.  Was he giving us the right scoop?  In my experience, his advice was pretty sound, especially about buying new car.

Leave a Reply

